Letting go..again

Today though it is about letting go of material possessions. I have been on a drive to consciously declutter over the last year and a half or so, but I ramped it up a notch or two. Mindful that I might have to put the house on the market later this week, I woke up this morning and wrote out a list of things I needed to do to get the house ready for viewings. The heartening thing was that the list wasn’t too long. All the decluttering I had been doing has certainly paid off and I mostly had cleaning and tidying up to do rather than getting rid of things. But there were a few unfinished projects lurking on shelves and in cupboards that I finally had the courage to chuck out. Of course it is a work in progress and I am working my way through one room at a time.

The act of letting go of material possessions actually helps with letting go of the various attachments we form to non-material things as well. The more we flex the “letting go muscle”, the easier it is to lessen our attachments to people and ideas. In her book “When things fall apart”, Pema Chodron talks about how you can form attachments to more healthier things like spirituality and meditation in order to let go of other more unhealthy attachments like relationships that no longer serve us. The ultimate goal is to let go off all attachments, but until then, replacing unhealthy attachments with healthy ones is the way to go.

 

Leave a Reply

